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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
O C C U P A T I O N A L  &  P R O F E S S I O N A L  L I C E N S I N G  D I V I S I O N  
1 6 5  C A P I T O L  A V E N U E  
H A R T F O R D ,  C O N N E C T I C U T   0 6 1 0 6  
Telephone: (860) 713-6135 
Email: occprotrades@po.state.ct.us 
Website:  www.ct.gov/dcp 

 
AUTOMOTIVE GLASS WORK AND FLAT GLASS WORK LICENSE 
TYPES: 
 
In accordance with Connecticut General Statute Chapter 393 Sections 20-330 through 20-341, all 
persons engaged in flat glass and automotive glass work must be licensed.  The following is 
information regarding licensure and penalties for failure to comply. 
 
LICENSE TYPES: 
 
FG-1 – (Unlimited Contractor’s license for Flat Glass Work) 
 
An Unlimited Contractor's License for flat glass work may be issued to any person who has served as a 
Journeyman in the Flat Glass Work trade for not less than two years. 
 
The holder of this license may perform the installation, maintenance, or repair of glass in residential 
or commercial structures. 
 
 Application fee: $75.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 Examination Information web site: www.psiexams.com 
 
FG-2 – (Unlimited Journeyman’s License for Flat Glass Work) 
 
An Unlimited Journeyman's License may be issued to any person who has completed a bona fide 
apprenticeship program, including not less than three years' experience in the Flat Glass Work trade 
and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade by 
successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination. 
 
 Application fee: $45.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 Examination Information web site: www.psiexams.com 
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AG-1 – (Unlimited Contractor’s license for Automotive Glass Work) 
 
An Unlimited Contractor's License for Automotive Glass Work may be issued to any person who has 
served as a Journeyman in the Automotive Glass Work trade for not less than two years. 
The holder of this license may install, maintain, or repair fixed glass in motor vehicles. 
 
 Application fee: $75.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 Examination Information web site: www.psiexams.com 
 
AG-2 – (Unlimited Journeyman’s License for Automotive Glass Work) 
 
An Unlimited Journeyman's License may be issued to any person who has completed a bona fide 
apprenticeship program, including not less than one year experience in the Automotive Glass Work 
trade and has demonstrated such person's competency to perform all services included in this trade 
by successfully completing the applicable state licensure examination. 
 
 Application fee: $45.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 Examination Information web site: www.psiexams.com 
 
Apprenticeship Information (required to apply for License Types AG-2 
and FG-2): 
 
Applicants’ must submit a “Letter of Apprenticeship Completion” obtained from the State of Connecticut, 
Department of Labor with their application for the Unlimited Journeyperson’ License. 
 
If an apprenticeship has not been completed, applicant’s employer must contact the following agency: 
 
Connecticut Department of Labor 
Office of Apprenticeship Training 
200 Folly Brook Boulevard 
Wethersfield, CT.  06109-1114 
Telephone: (860) 263-6085 
Facsimile: (860) 263-6088 
Website: http://www.ctapprenticeship.com 
 
If  you need to request a registration packet sent by mail, please contact the Office of Apprenticeship 
Training at Connecticut Department of Labor, 200 Folly Brook Blvd., Wethersfield, CT. 06109-1114, 
Telephone: 860-263-6085, Fax: (860) 263-6110 or e-mail: ct.apprenticeship@po.state.ct.us. If requesting 
a packet by email, be sure to include your name, phone number, address and zip code. 

Also see this information at:  

http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/progsupt/appren/online/reg_packet.htm 
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Limited Auto Glass Repair License Types  
The following limited Auto Glass Repair License types may be issued by the Commissioner of 
Consumer Protection for a durational period of time and limited Repair scope of work provided that 
such applicant for licensure has experience and related instruction that the Commissioner deems 
necessary for the effective enforcement of Public Act. 01-66; and until an examination is created using 
the A.N.S.I. Standards of practice for auto glass repair, and /or other reference’s the Commissioner 
deems necessary to qualify such person to be issued a permanent Auto Glass Repair journeyperson or 
contractor type license. 
 
Temporary Limited Auto Glass Repair Contractor (AG-3) 
The holder of this license may perform work limited to the repair of damage occurring in laminated 
glass in compliance with the conditions set forth in the Connecticut Automotive Glass Standards of 
Practice section titled: Windshield Repair.  All repairs may be made, but not more than five (5) in 
total, which do not exceed the following conditions: 
 
Do not exceed the following repair conditions: 
 

1. The impact point is not larger than 3/8”  
 
2. Individual impact damage (not classified as “Combination Break”) is not larger than 1” (or just 

slightly larger than a U.S. quarter)  
 

3. A combination break has cracks of less than 6” and the entire damage area can be completely 
covered by a U.S. $1 bill  

 
4. Crack damage is not caused by “stress”  

5. No more then one repair, not larger than 3/8” is permitted inside the acute area which is 
defined as “within the area covered by the sweep of the driver’s side wiper originally 
provided by the manufacturer or in the case of one original wiper provided by the 
manufacturer, the driver’s side half of the windshield”  

 
The requirement to qualify for this license shall be two (2) years as a properly licensed journeyperson 
or equivalent experience and training as determined by the Department. 
 
 Application fee: $75.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
Temporary Limited Auto Glass Repair Journeyperson (AG-4).  
The holder of this license may perform work limited to the repair of damage occurring in laminated 
glass in compliance with the conditions set forth in the Connecticut Automotive Glass Standards of 
Practice section titled: Windshield Repair and only while under the direct employ of a properly 
licensed Contractor for such work. 
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The requirements to qualify for this limited license shall be the completion of a Department approved 
training program or equivalent experience and training as determined. 
 
 Application fee: $45.00 
 
 Applications and Statutes web site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS: 
 
 
Q: If a repair shop installs its own windshields in its salvage vehicles that it is rebuilding, regardless 
of whether or not the work is for a customer, is a license required? 
 
A. Yes.  An AG-1 licensee (contractor) with employees that hold an AG-2 license (journeyperson) is required.  
 
Q. If a used car dealer installs windshields in some of its used vehicles that are offered for sale, is a 
license required? 
A.  Yes.  An AG-1 licensee with employees that hold an AG-2 license is required. 
 
Glass Repair licenses types AG-3 (contractor) with employees that hold an AG-4 (journeyperson) are 
limited to repair work only and not replacement. Should the repair work lead to replacement, then an 
AG-1 with employees that hold an AG-2 license is required.  
 
Individuals holding an AG-1 license with employees that hold an AG-2 license are legally able to perform 
repair work.   Repair work is within the scope of allowable work as defined within their license 
type(s). 

Sec. 20-334. License or card of registration. Requirements. Suspension or revocation.  

 
(a) No person shall engage in, practice or offer to perform the work of any occupation subject to this 
chapter in this state unless such person has first obtained a license as provided in section 20-333, or 
possesses a card of registration from the Labor Department or the board and is subject to all of the 
regulations adopted under this chapter for the purpose of governing apprenticeship training, or has 
been issued a license for such particular work under this chapter prior to July 6, 1967. 
 
(b) The Department of Consumer Protection shall furnish to each qualified applicant a license 
certifying that the holder thereof is entitled to engage in the work or occupation for which the person 
has been issued a license under this chapter, and the holder of such license shall carry it on his person 
while engaging in such work or occupation. Such license shall be shown to any properly interested 
person on request. No such license shall be transferred to or used by any person other than the person 
to whom the license was issued. Contractors shall display their state license number on all 
commercial vehicles used in their business and shall display such number in a conspicuous manner 
on all printed advertisements, bid proposals, contracts, invoices and on all stationery used in their 
business. The department shall keep a register in which shall be entered the names of all persons to 
whom such licenses are issued. The register shall be at all times open to public inspection. 

(c) Each board established under section 20-331 may suspend or revoke any license or certificate 
granted or issued by it under this chapter if the holder of such license or certificate is convicted of a 
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felony, is grossly incompetent, engages in malpractice or unethical conduct or knowingly makes false, 
misleading or deceptive representations regarding his work or violates the regulations adopted under 
this chapter. Before any such license is suspended or revoked, such holder shall be given notice and 
opportunity for hearing as provided in regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Consumer 
Protection. Any person whose license has been suspended or revoked may, after ninety days, apply to 
the board to have such license reinstated. 
 
Sec. 20-341. Penalties for violations. 
 
The appropriate examining board may, after notice and hearing, impose a civil penalty on any person 
who engages in or practices the work or occupation for which a license or apprentice registration 
certificate is required by this chapter, Chapter 394 or Chapter 482 without having first obtained such a 
certificate or license, or who willfully employs or supplies for employment a person who does not 
have such a license or certificate or who willfully and falsely pretends to qualify to engage in or 
practice such work or occupation, or who engages in or practices any of the work or occupations for 
which a license or certificate is required by this chapter, Chapter 394 or Chapter 482 after the 
expiration of the license or certificate or who violates any of the provisions of this chapter, Chapter 
394 or Chapter 482 or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Such penalty shall be in an amount 
not more than one thousand dollars for a first violation of this subsection, not more than one 
thousand five hundred dollars for a second violation and not more than three thousand dollars for 
each violation of this subsection occurring less than three years after a second or subsequent violation 
of this subsection, except that any individual employed as an apprentice but improperly registered 
shall not be penalized for a first offense. 
 
ALL CONTRACTOR LICENSE TYPES NOTE: No such license shall be transferred to or used by any 
person other than the person to whom the license was issued. Contractors shall display their state 
license number on all commercial vehicles used in their business and shall display such number in a 
conspicuous manner on all printed advertisements, bid proposals, contracts, invoices and on all 
stationery used in their business. 
 
Finally, to confirm whether or not an individual holds the proper credentials for the flat glass work 
and automotive glass work they are performing, a consumer can access the following website for this 
information  
 
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us/LICENSING/ 
 
If you have any questions or need further clarification on any of these issues, please feel free to call 
our office at the telephone number given herein. 
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